Satan Mode

Here’s a really useful Windows 7 tip! Add a new folder to your desktop and name it GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}. Presto! It magically becomes a link to a super-secret Windows God Mode that puts loads of useful settings into a single window. And even better, it works on Vista as well!

A twitterchum posted the link last night, and it looked vaguely interesting and easy to implement, so I gave it a go. Unfortunately I didn’t get to the bit about it not working on Vista 64-bit. In fact that may have been added later. Neither did I look far enough down the comments to see the warnings about what it actually did to Vista 64-bit. I just followed the simple instructions and was slightly bemused when Explorer crashed.

Bemusement progressed to icy horror when I restarted Explorer and it crashed again. And again. And again. Restarted the PC. Explorer crashed. Restarted in safe mode. Explorer crashed.

Well, fuck. Not what you need at half past ten on a Sunday evening when your faculties are perhaps not quite as sharp as they might be. I mean, I’ve had worse; a little over a year ago I spent a very jolly Friday evening undoing the work of a compromised B3ta link that managed to own my old PC in about a minute. That took about five hours of being very very angry and reasonably clever, but paid off in the end when I wrote about it for PC Format. At least in that case, though, I could actually get into Windows to deal with it.

Soooo…. Got out the iPhone and looked around for a solution, rebooted in the special command prompt version of safe mode, which luckily was the only version of safe mode still working. Turns out all I had to do was get to the Desktop directory on my hard disk and delete the GodMode… folder. Which first involved finding it, which involved digging out a laptop in order to figure out the path more easily than banging my head against the command prompt. Got to the right directory, deleted the folder, rebooted, job done.

Which is fine for me, having started out in the days of MS-DOS and being familiar with its ways, and also having spare systems to hand with which to search for a solution. It’d be interesting to know how many people are currently stuck with PCs in a permanent crash cycle that they don’t have the first clue about fixing.

It’s probably a pretty good time to be a freelance tech support.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Satan Mode

  1. Hey, I actually did this as I was reading and, yeah. You should probably add a little warning to the top of the blog post, incase people actually trust you enough to believe your first paragraph.

    So how about a little step-by-step guide on how to kill it, exactly? How do I bring up a command prompt without a working explorer?

  2. jedburgh

    Gnnn. Seriously. I thought I’d been an idiot for not bothering to read down the comments and spot the danger.

    Command prompt: Hold down F8 at boot, select Safe Mode With Command Prompt.

    And then assuming it dumps you into system32..

    cd\

    cd Users\*YOUR USERNAME*\Desktop

    rd “GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}”

  3. I hadn’t even heard of this thing before, always quite fancied a GodMode for my Windows, quite why I’m not sure, but it does sound… impressive.

    Not entirely what I’ll do with it in the future, but thanks for the rather interesting little tip (and also for the solution for those of us who will ultimately bollocks it all up.)

Leave a Reply

